2010 Barolo…. wow…..

Wow they are good,

Massolino Banner

During my trip to Italy in April I tried a swag of fantastic 2010 Barolo. These wines will live forever and are already supremely balanced.  They drink well from today and for another thirty years.

As these wines have landed in Australia, I have been opening these wines and see how they compared to when I looked at them in April. Sometimes, the distance in travel can shock the wines and it can take months for them to come back to the level there were before the voyage across the world.

Well, not the 2010 wines.  They have hit the ground running and even with some of the wines that have arrived and I have tasted within a day or so of there voyage, they have looked stunning. The  more I try these wines in Oz (and I reckon I have tried close to a dozen Baroli) the more I think that this vintage is going to be one for the ages, and talked about in the same light of the very best post war vintages.

Lot’s of people ask me how they should by so they cover enough of the 2010 Barolo without having to take out a second mortgage. For me, I think 3’s and 6’s are a great way to buy. If you can afford it, lash out with 6 bottles, you will never be disappointed. Otherwise 3 bottles will you allow to look at these wines at multiple stages of their life.

 

3 thoughts on “2010 Barolo…. wow…..”

  1. Surely a great vintage. One word from my experience: Travel shock often does not set in until 2-3 weeks after arrival. Until then, many wines remain extremely open and charming, probably due to the rattle and shake they have had during transport. Once they close down, however, they can be surly for months, and then sometimes slow to recover. With wines as long-lived as 2010 Barolo that won’t be any problem, of course, but perhaps merits some retasting in the next few months to see whether they have in fact closed down. Dirty job, but somebody’s got to do it:-)

  2. Bottle/travel shock is noticeable in inter-Europe transport too. I even get it in Inter-Denmark transport, where newly-arrived bottles can taste great for 2-3 weeks, then shut down, only to re-emerge 2-6 months later. I don’t think it’s the distance as such, although greater distance can perhaps have a gradually – very slowly – increasing effect. I think the greatest effect comes from the mere fact of being transported, jostled, rattled and all shook up. Some also speculate that height can be a factor (for instance going over the Alps could be worse than going around them), but I am highly unconvinced.

Leave a Reply

