Vinitaly Day Two: Calabria,Campania and Tuscany (Chianti Classico)

Today was one of the reasons why Vinitaly is so important for wine importers from places so far away like Australia: to be able to go from Calabria to Campania and finally Tuscany (Chianti Classico) all in one day was worth the 30 hours on a plane just for that.

In Campania I visited our new producer for Mondo Imports, Salvatore Molettieri and tried through three vintages of each wine.

Salvatore Molettieri stand in Campania Pavilion: Vinitaly 2012

I also had time to visit our Calabrian producer ‘Le Moire’ who makes a small of amount of wine with passion and dedication that I find quite inspiring. His 2011 vintages reds look fantastic and I can’t wait to show these wines in Australia.

From their I moved to Tuscany and tried three a number of different Chianti Classico and Chianti Classico Riserva’s from all the benchmark producers that find their way to Australia. I loved the standard 2009 Chianti Classico and 2007 Chianti Riserva’s. These are stunning vintages for these two wines.

Tonight I am looking forward to a hearty meal and finish (or maybe start) the night with a Spritz in Piazza Erbe which is exactly what I did last night…

Spritz in Piazza Erbe (Verona)

Tomorrow I will do Franciacorta and Brunello di Montalcino.

9 thoughts on “Vinitaly Day Two: Calabria,Campania and Tuscany (Chianti Classico)”

  1. Ciao Anth,
    One of the things I still miss form my time in Italy was heading to the bar at the end of the day where they served the “Aperitivo ” food snacks and a good Spritz !!
    Bravo.

    Ciao.

Leave a Reply

