Just can’t stop loving Barbera d’Alba…

There are some wine style that you just love. Love unashamedly without any bias or compromise. You probably don’t drink enough as you should but when you do, you just shake your head and ask yourself why you don’t drink more of it.

Barbera is that wine for me. Good producers of Barbera d’Alba know their vineyards and in the right vintages, these wines are just magical. Over the last few months I have had some magical Barbera’s. Bottles from Benevelli, Vietti, Roagna, Elio Grasso and Bruno Giacosa have all left an impression on me recently.

The Giacosa, drunk on a lovely summers’ night absolutely blew me away. It was the 2006 Falletto Barbera Superiore that was full and complete with layers and layers of fruit. It was supremely balanced and has years in front of it.

Which leads me to another point: I need to put more Barbera in my cellar.

Leave a Reply

