An amazing cut of meat and the perfect match.

Last night was the first time I had cooked with Cape Grim Beef from Tasmania and to say I was looking forward to it was an understatement. Well it certainly didn’t let me down and this was close to the best piece of meat that I have eaten: certainly the best I have cooked at home.

My steak was close to an inch thick and you could have cut it with a butter knife. Truly amazing and testament to the quality of meat produced from Cape Grim.

And the perfect match: Bodegas Palacios Remondo La Montesa Rioja Crianza 2006.

After Italy, Spain is the country that is best represented in my cellar (ahead of France) and it is the likes of La Montessa, Marques de Riscal, Alion and Pesquera. In good vintages these wines age so well and are the prefect match for the meal we had last night.

Leave a Reply

